Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for December 10th, 2009

Okay, so I’ve had two totally random work-out sightings during my outdoor fitness routines. Which is kind of glorious, since I’ve been weird-sighting free for awhile, so it’s as though Mother Nature is giving me double after giving me so much nothing.

Sighting one happened while I was running with J earlier in the week. We’ve begun a set, once-a-week run together, and that kind of consistency is exactly what I needed. I have something to look forward to, a certain moment in the week when I will get some sort of social and physical outlet. And it’s with J! Happiness all around.

Okay, the sighting: So J and I were trotting along and discussing this, that and the other thing when a woman in a purple coat up ahead of us stopped like there was  chasm one inch in front of her. She turned to us and waved her arms wildly yet slowly (yes, I don’t know how else to explain it — it really was wildly slow) and we too stopped. It was dusk, so I had to squint to see what purple-lady was staring intently at. Finally, my eyes made out the shape of a feline…the shape of a mountain lion!!!

J is mildly vision-impaired at moments, so I whispered about the feline issue, and she froze. No blinking, nothing. I looked around us — we were on a bridge, and while we could have scrambled onto the ledge of the railing, but as far as I’m aware, large, wild felines are more dexterous than even smaller, tame ones. Outrunning an animal like that is also severely out of the question. Peeing myself felt like the best option, but even in my state of concern I was still on empty.

Two bikers came by cautiously, and then continued on. And the cat didn’t move. They started to zoom by us, and my budgeoning curiosity couldn’t be contained. “What is it?” I asked.

“A bobcat, ” said the first biker as he rolled past me.
“Harmless!” the second biker tossed casually over his shoulder.

Thank. God.

J and I walked by, and up close, it was obviously not a mountain lion and certainly just an extra-jumbo sized feline. The bobcat was beautiful, bathing its leopardy print fur and lolling in the fading sunlight. We watched, exchanged pleasantries, and then finally headed on our way.

Sighting two:

Since my gym membership is brand-sparkling new, boyfriend and I of course have to go every single day. I’m sure this newness will calm down, but until we find something new, we’re gym-kids. And why not? It’s fun. We’re paying for it. We can do it together. Whee!

So last night we headed in well after eight. I hit up the pool, an outdoor Olympic length piece of watery wonderful, sliding in and peacefully lapping away. I tried really hard not to think about being completely alone and concentrated on all the video cameras that I know are in use to monitor the facility. After a warm-up, I surfaced, and movement to the side of me attracted my attention.

There, in the dewy lawn, were a fleet of bunnies! Fluffy, cheerful, skulking bunnies! They were frolicking around, breathing heavy, and whuffling in the grass. Bunnies!! I was thankfully no longer alone, and swam peacefully, watching the bunnies as I breast stroked.

Read Full Post »